Zone Women in Tech: Julia Lax

Zone
3 min readMar 3, 2020

--

The theme to this year’s International Women’s Day is #EachforEqual — where an equal world is an enabled world. This is something that resonates strongly for us at Zone.

We’re very aware that only one in ten IT leaders (1) and just 16% of creative directors are women(2). That’s why we’re working with Creative Equals to drive greater diversity in our business to enable a more inclusive, innovative and happier workforce.

In honour of International Women’s Day, we asked some of our inspirational women at Zone to tell us why more women should join the technology sector. Our frontend dev Julia Lax tells us how she thinks the technology sector can become more inclusive.

Julia Lax, Senior Frontend Developer

1. How did you begin your career in technology and was it something you always wanted to do?

I was keen on doing something in tech and so I decided to study AI at university. I learnt to code in Java and Prolog, which I loved. However due to negative experiences during that time I didn’t go straight into the tech industry. It took me a few years to find my way back and discovered the world of web development. I got a great job where I got to learn loads and develop my skills as a back-end developer. I then decided I preferred front-end technologies so came to Zone and haven’t looked back!

2. Technology roles are notoriously dominated by men. Do you notice the lack of women and why do you think this is?

Yes, and I haven’t really seen a much of a change over the years.

I think the issue is huge and stems from culture and society. It starts with our education from teachers and parents. There is this idea that gender determines whether you will be better in certain subjects and defines what you should or shouldn’t do in your career/life.

3. What do you find most interesting about the technology sector?

It is always evolving, and it is exciting to be part of that! I love that we are always learning to improve how we do things, whether that’s our processes or technical approaches.

4. During your career, have you ever felt that you were treated differently because of your gender?

I have been pretty lucky and worked in places where they have been quite inclusive and aware.

5. Who’s your female role model?

Marge Piercy because I just love her books Woman on The Edge of Time and He, She, It. With the former because of her utopian world where people are individuals rather than their gender, race or class. And the latter because of its focus on gender roles and AI along with the protagonist and her grandmother being Jewish tech women.

6. What advice would you give to other women wanting to start a career in tech?

Go for it but choose to work in places like Zone where there is diversity and open conversation about it.

7. How do you think the technology sector can become more inclusive?

I think that it needs to be more openly discussed as an issue that still needs lots of work. This could be done at tech conferences (and not just women in tech ones), meetups and within the business (like we are doing at Zone).

(1) https://www.womenintech.co.uk/

(2) http://www.creativeequals.org/

Read more from our Zone Women in Tech series:

Alix Richards, senior frontend developer

Sofia Lara Peyret, junior frontend developer

Fran Haines, junior frontend developer

Silvia Rebelo, senior frontend developer

--

--

Zone

We write about customer experience, employee experience, design, content & technology to share our knowledge with the wider community.